Film: Cold Creek Manor
  Film: The Station Agent
45th SF Int'l Film Festival
  Ayres Rock & Alice Springs
  Cruising to Adventure
  Czech Republic
  Resort: La Mancha



45th San Francisco International Film Festival

The 45th SAN FRANCISCO INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL runs April 18 ­ May 2, 2002 at the AMC Kabuki 8 Theatres, the Castro Theatre, the Pacific Film Archive in Berkeley and Landmark's Park Theatre in Menlo Park.

In addition to the outstanding premiers and special events, the Festival has just announced that WARREN BEATTY has won the prestigious AKIRA KUROSAWA AWARD for lifetime achievement in film directing. The Academy Award-winning Director, and multi-talented Producer, Writer and Actor, will appear in person to receive the Award at the San Francisco Film Society Awards Night, a gala fundraiser on Thursday, April 25, 2002 at San Francisco's Argent Hotel. There will also be a public presentation, including a compilation of clips from Beatty's career, an onstage interview and screenings of REDS and BULWORTH during the Festival.

Each year, the San Francisco International Film Festival honors a master of world cinema with the Akira Kurosawa Award for lifetime achievement in film directing. The award is named after the great Japanese filmmaker who was the first recipient of the award in 1986. Other recipients of the Award have been Clint Eastwood, USA; Abbas Kiarostami, Iran; Arturo Ripstein, Mexico; Im Kwon-Taek, Korea; Francesco Rosi, Italy; Arthur Penn, USA; Stanley Donen, USA; Manoel de Oliviera, Portugal; Ousmane Sembène, Senegal; Satayajit Ray, India; Marcel Carné, France; Jiri Menzel, Czechoslovakia; Joseph L. Mankiewicz, USA; Robert Bresson, France; Michael Powell, England.

The 45th San Francisco International Film Festival is presented by the San Francisco Film Society, a nonprofit arts organization whose goal is to lead in expanding the knowledge and appreciation of international film art and its artists by showcasing the most compelling, thought-provoking international films, special tributes and major restorations, and today's brightest stars.


© 2001-2007 Ellen Sarbone. All rights reserved. Email editor@eTraveller.com.